City renews commitment of dollars to the BDC

City renews commitment of dollars to the BDC


WEIRTON — The City of Weirton will continue to provide funding for the Business Development Corp of the Northern Panhandle, following Monday’s meeting.

Council voted 6-0 in favor of the allotment of $28,750 toward the local economic development agency, which focuses on projects in Hancock and Brooke counties.

Ward 4 Councilman George Ash was not in attendance.

No comments were made by council during the meeting; however, City Manager Travis Blosser previously noted the BDC had requested an increased contribution because of the loss of state funding. In previous years, council had provided $25,000.

Council spent 35 minutes in executive session, discussing ongoing negotiations with the Weirton International Association of Fire Fighters Local 948. No decision was announced.

Ward 1 Councilman Tim Connell took a moment to express appreciation to the employees of the Weirton public works, police and fire departments for their work during the recent frigid weather.

In other business, council approved:

• The first reading of an ordinance, sponsored by Ward 7 Councilman Terry Weigel, to establish a double yellow line, to extend 30 feet in the middle of the street where Pennsylvania Avenue connects to Circle Drive. The reading was approved 6-0, with the ordinance required to go through a second reading to be effective.

• An emergency reading of an ordinance, sponsored by Ward 5 Councilman Douglas Jackson, to establish signs for “No parking from 6 a.m. to 9 a.m. and 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.” on the south side of Hanlin Way, between Beaumont Drive and Collins Way. The ordinance was passed 5-0, with Ward 3 Councilman Fred Marsh abstaining because of his employment with Brooke County Schools, which had requested the action.

• A resolution for the purchase of two 2018 Ford F550 4×4 regular cab trucks with dump bodies and plow/spreader packages for the Street Department, at a cost of $154,160.

Council also approved the re-appointment of Frank Bohach to the Zoning Board of Appeals; the re-appointment of John Porco to the Planning Commission; and the appointment of Jason Backel to the Planning Commission. All terms will last until Dec. 31, 2020.