Applefest scholarships awarded

JUN 8, 2021

Warren Scott

The Wellsburg Applefest Committee has awarded $500 scholarships to several Brooke County students. On hand for the presentation were, front, from left, recipients Audrey Poole, who will be attending Slippery Rock University; Jason Polgar, who will be attending Waynesburg University; and Brynna Jackson, who will be attending West Liberty University; and back, committee members Johanna Weiler, Frank Johnson, Ernie Jack, Jerry Fluharty, Jim Hartzer and Robin Snyder. Scholarships also were awarded to Abigail Horvath, Mikelle Morris, Elizabeth Hamilton and Thomas Packer. As co-chairs, Johnson and Jack said the scholarships were established in recent years to express thanks to the community for its support over the years of the Applefest, which will return Oct. 1-3.